the boy in the bloody red hoodie

Published December 28, 2013 by violetskiess

I woke up yesterday morning a bit late since my cousins slept over. My sister barged in claiming that there was an explosion. We all sat in the kitchen watching how horrific and disastrous the scenes were… No buildings left, glass everywhere, and bodies laying on the floor motionless and immobile. One specific boy caught our attention though, he was wearing a red hoodie. &his face was simply the same color as his hoodie. He just looked way too young for any of this.

I then went back to my room to check my phone. My friends were talking on our whatsapp groups non-stop. I quickly read what they were talking about.. They were asking where 4 of our friends are. &that they were out where the explosion had taken place, they knew that because of their last snapchat story which included a selfie of the 4 boys smiling and just enjoying their youth.

One of the boys was wearing a red hoodie… &then it hit me. He was the same boy that i saw in the news. 

We all tried calling and texting our friends. But it was just useless. We were left with no choice but to wait. A few hours later, we were told that 1 guy suffered from an injury on his thigh and couldn’t hear properly. The other suffered from a first degree burn all over his face and arms. The 3rd burned his arm and had a few injuries. The boy in the red hoodie though.. well, he didn’t make it. 

He was in the hospital all night in coma. We prayed and prayed and prayed, hoping that god would listen to our prayers. His death was  announced this morning though.. He was a 16 year old in my school. I’ve seen him a lot.. i never talked to him though. I wish i did. I really do.. The way his friends describe him makes me regret never saying hello. From what i’ve heard, he was an innocent boy who adored swimming. His smile would always lighten up one’s day.He had an amazing personality where u’d feel comfortable talking to him even if you were a complete stranger.

And so, the last picture remains … his last smile will always last in our hearts, whether we knew him or not. 

RIP. Heaven’s got a new angel now.

Leave a comment